Filter by year

10 December 2014

New SAB Members

Two new members will be joining the CMI’s Scientific Advisory Board in January in succession to Richard Melrose and Yum-Tong Siu. Michael J Hopkins ( above left)is a professor in the Mathematics Department at Harvard University, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is well known […]

Ivan Corwin photo
06 November 2014

2014 Packard Fellowship

Clay Research Fellow Ivan Corwin has been awarded a 2014 Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering.  The Packard Foundation established the Fellowships program in 1988 to provide early-career scientists with flexible funding and the freedom to take risks and explore new frontiers in their fields. 

13 August 2014

2014 Fields Medals

Three former Clay Research Fellows, Artur Avila, Manjul Bhargava (pictured), and Maryam Mirzakhani have been awarded Fields Medals at the 2014 International Congress of Mathematicians.

14 July 2014

2014 Clay Research Awards

The Clay Mathematics Institute announces that the 2014 Clay Research Awards have been made to Maryam Mirzakhani (pictured) and Peter Scholze. Maryam Mirzakhani is recognised for her many and significant contributions to geometry and ergodic theory, in particular to the proof of an analogue of Ratner’s theorem on unipotent flows for moduli of flat surfaces. Peter […]

25 June 2014

Ramanujan Prize

The 2014 Ramanujan Prize has been awarded to Miguel Walsh of the University of Oxford for his outstanding contributions to Ergodic Theory and Number Theory, including a proof of the norm convergence of multiple polynomial or nilpotent ergodic averages, a long-standing problem in ergodic theory, and important results in inverse sieve problems leading to a sharp bound on […]

02 May 2014

Quillen Notebooks

During his long mathematical career, Dan Quillen kept a set of detailed notes which give  a day-to-day record of his mathematical research.  His notebooks have been digitised in a project funded by CMI and made available to the mathematics community on the CMI website. Glenys Luke and Graeme Segal are working on cataloguing the material.  So […]

19 March 2014

Goldbach’s Weak Conjecture

David Platt of the Heilbronn Institute at the University of Bristol won the Gold Award in the Mathematics section of the 2014  ‘SET for Britain’ poster competition at the House of Commons. His poster outlined the history and proof of the weak (or ternary) Goldbach conjecture, that every odd number greater than 5 is the sum of three primes. […]

04 March 2014

Poincaré Chair

Denis Auroux, Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, and Ivan Corwin, Clay Research Fellow and Associate Professor at Columbia University, have been appointed to the Poincaré Chair for the academic year 2014/15.   The Clay Mathematics Institute and the Institut Henri Poincaré (IHP, Paris) established the Poincaré Chair for mathematicians in the early stages of their career. Those named to […]

04 March 2014

2014 Clay Research Fellows

The Clay Mathematics Institute is pleased to announce that June Huh, Miguel Walsh (pictured) and Alex Wright have been appointed Clay Research Fellows.

Ivan Corwin photo
12 February 2014

Rollo Davidson Prize

Clay Research Fellow Ivan Corwin has been awarded the prestigious Rollo Davidson Prize in Probability for 2014. This award recognizes Ivan’s outstanding achievements in the area of stochastic growth processes and their relation to integrable systems.

16 December 2013

ICM 2014

Former Clay Research Fellows Manjul Bhargava, Alexei Borodin, Ben Green, and Maryam Mirzakhani (pictured) have been named as plenaray speakers at the ICM in 2014, as have two Clay Research Awardees, Jonathan Pila (2011) and Ian Algol (2009). Two current Clay Research Fellows, Ivan Corwin and Peter Scholze, are also to speak at the ICM, as are Jeremy Kahn and […]

14 November 2013

SASTRA Ramanujan Prize

CMI Research Fellow Peter Scholze has been awarded the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize 2013. This annual prize was established in 2005 by SASTRA University is for very young mathematicians for outstanding contributions to areas influenced by Ramanujan. There is an article by Krishnaswami Alladi about the prize and about Peter Scholze’s work in the European Mathematical Society […]