Filter by year

28 February 2018

2018 Clay Research Fellows

The Clay Mathematics Institute is pleased to announce that Aleksandr Logunov and Will Sawin have been awarded Clay Research Fellowships. Aleksandr Logunov gained his PhD in 2015 under the supervision of Viktor Havin at the Chebyshev Laboratory, St Petersburg State University. After two years as a postdoctoral fellow at Tel-Aviv University, he moved last year to the Institute for […]

24 January 2018

CMI at 20

The Clay Mathematics Institute will celebrate the 20th anniversary of its foundation with a conference  in the Andrew Willes Building at Oxford, from 24 to 26 Sepetmber 2018.  The conference will celebrate CMI’s contributions to the international mathematical community over the past 20 years and highlight the outstanding work of some of the mathematicians whose research it […]

21 November 2017

Wolfson Merit Award

Research Fellow James Maynard has been appointed Research Professor at the Mathematical Institute of the University of Oxford and receives a Wolfson Merit Award from the Royal Society.  The Wolfson Merit Award is a prestigious award intended to attract or retain respected scientists of outstanding achievement and potential.  James will take up his professorship upon […]

23 August 2017

LMS Whitehead Prize

Former Clay Research Fellow Jack Thorne has been awarded a Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society in recongnition of his contributions to number theory, and in particular to the Langlands program.

22 August 2017

Landon T Clay 1926 – 2017

Landon Clay died peacefully at home in Peterborough, NH on July 29, surrounded by his wife and four sons.  His passing will be mourned by all who benefited from his vision and his generosity. Obituary

15 July 2017

Maryam Mirzakhani

It is with great sadness that we heard of the death earlier today of Maryam Mirzakhani.  Maryam was appointed to a Clay Research Fellowship in 2004 and was given a Clay Research Award in 2014 for her many and significant contributions to geometry and ergodic theory. The thoughts of the whole mathematical community will be […]

16 June 2017

ICM 2018

Congratulations to Clay Research Fellows June Huh, James Maynard, John Pardon, Jack Thorne, and Miguel Walsh who have been invited to speak at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Rio de Janeiro in 2018.  Congratulations also to former Research Fellow Peter Scholze, CMI Scientific Advisory Board members Simon Donaldson and Andrei Okounkov, and Clay Research Awardees Rahul Pandharipande and […]

Photo of Andrew Wiles
26 May 2017

Copley Medal

Andrew Wiles has been awarded the Copley Medal, the Royal Society’s oldest and most prestigious award. The medal is awarded annually for outstanding achievements in research in any branch of science and alternates between the physical and biological sciences. Andrew Wiles is one of the world’s foremost mathematicians. His proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem the 1990s catapulted […]

18 April 2017

Alan T. Waterman Award

Clay Research Fellow John Pardon has been recognised by the National Science Foundation (NSF) with the  Alan T. Waterman Award.  Bestowed annually, the Waterman Award recognises outstanding researchers age 35 and under in NSF-supported fields of science and engineering.

16 February 2017

2017 Clay Research Fellows

The Clay Mathematics Institute is pleased to announce that Peter Hintz and Akhil Mathew have been awarded Clay Research Fellowships.   Peter Hintz studies hyperbolic partial differential equations arising in general relativity using methods from microlocal analysis, spectral and scattering theory, and dynamical systems. He obtained his PhD at Stanford in 2015, advised by András Vasy. Akhil Mathew’s research focuses […]

09 November 2016

Dynamical Systems Prize

Simion Filip has been awarded the Dynamical Systems Prize for Young Mathematicians by the Center for Dynamics and Geometry at Penn State University.

19 July 2016


The second PROMYS Europe summer school opened in Oxford on July 16. It runs until August 20. For many years, CMI has supported PROMYS, the summer school founded by Glenn Stevens at Boston University. Each summer this brings together high school mathematicians from across America and beyond for six weeks of intense mathematical activity. Selection […]