Filter by year

Photo of Etienne Ghys
29 May 2015

Clay Award for Dissemination

The first Clay Award for Dissemination of Mathematical Knowledge has been made to Étienne Ghys in recognition of his own important contributions to mathematical research and for his distinguished work in the promotion of mathematics.  Étienne Ghys  is a CNRS Directeur de Recherche at ENS, Lyon.  He has published outstanding  work in his own fields of geometry […]

28 January 2015

Research Fellow: John Pardon

John V Pardon has been awarded a Clay Research Fellowship.  He studied as an undergraduate at Princeton and is currently working with Yakov Eliashberg at Stanford University. His most recent work concerns the construction of virtual fundamental cycles on moduli spaces of holomorphic curves in symplectic geometry. He is also interested in geometry and low-dimensional topology. John […]

28 January 2015

Research Fellow: James Maynard

James Maynard has been awarded a Clay Research Fellowship.  He obtained his doctorate at Oxford in 2013 under the supervision of Roger Heath-Brown.  He is currently a Fellow by Examination at Magdalen College, Oxford. James is primarily interested in classical number theory, in particular the distribution of prime numbers. His research focuses on using tools from […]

10 December 2014

New SAB Members

Two new members will be joining the CMI’s Scientific Advisory Board in January in succession to Richard Melrose and Yum-Tong Siu. Michael J Hopkins ( above left)is a professor in the Mathematics Department at Harvard University, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is well known […]

Ivan Corwin photo
06 November 2014

2014 Packard Fellowship

Clay Research Fellow Ivan Corwin has been awarded a 2014 Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering.  The Packard Foundation established the Fellowships program in 1988 to provide early-career scientists with flexible funding and the freedom to take risks and explore new frontiers in their fields. 

13 August 2014

2014 Fields Medals

Three former Clay Research Fellows, Artur Avila, Manjul Bhargava (pictured), and Maryam Mirzakhani have been awarded Fields Medals at the 2014 International Congress of Mathematicians.

14 July 2014

2014 Clay Research Awards

The Clay Mathematics Institute announces that the 2014 Clay Research Awards have been made to Maryam Mirzakhani (pictured) and Peter Scholze. Maryam Mirzakhani is recognised for her many and significant contributions to geometry and ergodic theory, in particular to the proof of an analogue of Ratner’s theorem on unipotent flows for moduli of flat surfaces. Peter […]

25 June 2014

Ramanujan Prize

The 2014 Ramanujan Prize has been awarded to Miguel Walsh of the University of Oxford for his outstanding contributions to Ergodic Theory and Number Theory, including a proof of the norm convergence of multiple polynomial or nilpotent ergodic averages, a long-standing problem in ergodic theory, and important results in inverse sieve problems leading to a sharp bound on […]

02 May 2014

Quillen Notebooks

During his long mathematical career, Dan Quillen kept a set of detailed notes which give  a day-to-day record of his mathematical research.  His notebooks have been digitised in a project funded by CMI and made available to the mathematics community on the CMI website. Glenys Luke and Graeme Segal are working on cataloguing the material.  So […]

19 March 2014

Goldbach’s Weak Conjecture

David Platt of the Heilbronn Institute at the University of Bristol won the Gold Award in the Mathematics section of the 2014  ‘SET for Britain’ poster competition at the House of Commons. His poster outlined the history and proof of the weak (or ternary) Goldbach conjecture, that every odd number greater than 5 is the sum of three primes. […]

04 March 2014

Poincaré Chair

Denis Auroux, Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, and Ivan Corwin, Clay Research Fellow and Associate Professor at Columbia University, have been appointed to the Poincaré Chair for the academic year 2014/15.   The Clay Mathematics Institute and the Institut Henri Poincaré (IHP, Paris) established the Poincaré Chair for mathematicians in the early stages of their career. Those named to […]

04 March 2014

2014 Clay Research Fellows

The Clay Mathematics Institute is pleased to announce that June Huh, Miguel Walsh (pictured) and Alex Wright have been appointed Clay Research Fellows.