Filter by year

Image of the Clay Research Award
12 August 2019

2019 Clay Research Awards

A Clay Research Award is made to Wei Zhang (MIT) in recognition of his ground-breaking work in arithmetic geometry and arithmetic aspects of automorphic forms. A joint Clay Research Award is made to Tristan Buckmaster (Princeton), Philip Isett (Caltech) and Vlad Vicol (NYU) in recognition of the profound contributions that each of them has made to […]

Photo of Andrew Wiles
03 July 2019

LMS Prizes 2019

CMI Scientific Advisory Board member Andrew Wiles (Oxford) has been awarded a De Morgan Medal by the London Mathematical Society for his seminal contributions to number theory and for his resolution of Fermat’s Last Theorem in particular, as well as for his numerous activities promoting mathematics in general.  Former Clay Research Fellow Ben Green (Oxford) has been awarded […]

23 April 2019

Royal Society Fellows

Congratulations to former Clay Research Fellows Manjul Bhargava (Princeton, pictured) and Akshay Venkatesh (IAS) and former Clay Senior Scholar Christopher Hacon (Utah) on their election as Fellows of the Royal Society.

11 February 2019

2019 Clay Research Fellows

The Clay Mathematics Institute is pleased to announce that Ewain Gwynne and Antoine Song have been awarded Clay Research Fellowships. Ewain Gwynne obtained his PhD in 2018 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, under the supervision of Scott Sheffield. Since then he has held the Herschel Smith Fellowship at the University of Cambridge, and is a Junior Research Fellow at […]

Photo of Simon Donaldson
12 December 2018

2019 Oswald Veblen Prize

The 2019 Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry will be awarded to Simon Donaldson, Xiuxiong Chen and Song Sun for their three-part series, “Kähler-Einstein metrics on Fano manifolds, I, II, and III,” published in 2015 in the Journal of the American Mathematical Society.  Professor Donaldson has been a member of CMI’s Scientific Advisory Board since 2002.

26 November 2018

Conant Prize

Clay Research Fellow Alex Wright has been awarded the 2019 Levi L. Conant Prize for his article From rational billiards to dynamics on moduli spaces.  In only 16 pages, the article gives a panoramic view of the theory of translation surfaces and of the recent breakthrough by Alex Eskin, Maryam Mirzakhani, and Amir Mohammadi on the structure of […]

Photo of Carlos Kenig
23 October 2018

IMU President

Professor Carlos Kenig has been elected President of the International Mathematical Union’s Executive Committee for a term of four years beginning 2019.  The President oversees all aspects of the IUM and Executive Committee and chairs the Fields Medal Committee. Professor Kenig has been a member of CMI’s Scientific Advisory Board since 2015.

08 October 2018

Michael Brin Prize

Clay Research Fellow Alex Wright has been awarded the Michael Brin Dynamical Systems Prize for Young Mathematicians for his fundamental work on the Teichmüller geometry and dynamics of moduli space on Riemann surfaces, especially on the classification of SL(2,R)-invariant orbifolds, and the discovery of unexpected examples.

Photo of Martin Bridson
17 September 2018

President of CMI

Professor Martin R Bridson FRS has been appointed President of the Clay Mathematics Institute from October 1, 2018.  He is the Whitehead Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of Magdalen College.  Until earlier this summer, he was Head of the Mathematical Institute at Oxford. He studied mathematics as an […]

01 August 2018

Fields Medals

Congratulations to former Clay Research Fellows Peter Scholze (pictured) and Akshay Venkatesh on the award of Fields Medals at the 2018 ICM in Rio de Janeiro. Scholze took up his fellowship in 2012, on completing his PhD under the supervision of Michael Rapoport at the Universität Bonn. He was awarded a Fields Medal  “for transforming arithmetic algebraic geometry over p-adic […]

Photo of Andrew Wiles
01 May 2018

Andrew Wiles Appointed Regius Professor of Mathematics at Oxford

The Queen has approved the appointment of Professor Sir Andrew Wiles as the inaugural holder of the Regius Professorship of Mathematics at the University of Oxford.  The Chair was created in 2016 as part of the celebrations of Queen Elizabeth’s 90th birthday.  Professor Wiles has been a member of CMI’s Scientific Advisory Board since CMI’s foundation in 1998. There […]

10 April 2018

Ada Lovelace

The book “Ada Lovelace: the Making of a Computer Scientist”  by Christopher Hollings,  Ursula Martin, and Adrian Rice  will be published soon by Bodleian Libraries in the UK and distributed by the University of Chicago Press in the USA.  It is a product of a joint project between CMI and the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford. From the Publishers’ […]