Clay Mathematics Institute

Dedicated to increasing and disseminating mathematical knowledge

Vol 2. Global Theory of Minimal Surfaces

Vol 2

In the Summer of 2001, the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) hosted the Clay Mathematics Institute Summer School on the Global Theory of Minimal Surfaces. During that time, MSRI became the world center for the study of minimal surfaces: 150 mathematicians--undergraduates, post-doctoral students, young researchers, and world experts--participated in the most extensive meeting ever held on the subject in its 250-year history.

The unusual nature of the meeting made it possible to put together this collection of expository lectures and specialized reports, giving a panoramic view of a vital subject presented by leading researchers in the field.

The subjects covered include minimal and constant-mean-curvature submanifolds, geometric measure theory and the double-bubble conjecture, Lagrangian geometry, numerical simulation of geometric phenomena, applications of mean curvature to general relativity and Riemannian geometry, the isoperimetric problem, the geometry of fully nonlinear elliptic equations and applications to the topology of three-dimensional manifolds. The wide variety of topics covered make this volume suitable for graduate students and researchers interested in differential geometry.

CMI/AMS publication. 800pp., Paperback, ISBN: 0-8218-3587-4. List: $138. AMS Members: $110.40. Order code: CMIP/2. Students: $110.40. Order code: CLAY MATH. Available at the AMS bookstore 

Editor: David Hoffman

Authors: Jaigyoung Choe, Tobias Colding, Ricardo Earp, Yi Fang , Karsten Grose-Brauckmann , Joel Hass, David Hoffman, Dominic Joyce, Nikolaos Kapouleas, Hermann Karcher, Rob Kusner, Francisco Lopez, Francisco Martin, Rafe Mazzeo, William Meeks, Chikako Mese, William Minicozzi, Frank Morgan, Frank Pacard, Joaquin Perez, Daniel Pollack, Konrad Polthier, Manuel Ritore, Antonio Ros, Harold Rosenberg, Wayne Rossman, Hyam Rubinstein, Richard Schoen, Joel Spruck, Keti Tenenblat, Peter Topping, Eric Toubiana, Martin Traizet, Massaki Umehara, Matthias Weber, Michael Wolf, Jon Wolfson, Kotaro Yamada