Clay Mathematics Institute

Dedicated to increasing and disseminating mathematical knowledge
Thursday, May 23, 2013

The 2013 Clay Research Award has been made to Rahul Pandharipande (ETH, Zürich) for his recent outstanding work in enumerative geometry.

Monday, March 12, 2018
Monday, April 9, 2018 to Sunday, April 15, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018 to Friday, June 15, 2018

Ada and the Lytton Family

Thu, 2017-05-25 10:19 -- Nick Woodhouse

An interesting footnote to Ada's story is her friendship with the novelist, poet, and playwright Edward Bulwer Lytton (whose much quoted lines, 'Beneath the rule of men entirely great/The pen is mightier than the sword' are often distorted by truncation).

Some of Ada's letters to Bulwer Lytton survive and are currently held at HALS (Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies, D/EK/C3/12-18).  They reveal a lively discussion of religion and immortality, and some evidence of sharp disagreement.  In one Ada writes

Saturday, March 3, 2018 to Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 to Friday, May 25, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 to Friday, May 25, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to Clay Mathematics Institute RSS